We voted yesterday. Emme was so interested in going and seeing how it all works. She waited in line for an hour and a half in the frigid morning air, never whining.  When we made our way to the front of the line, she climbed up on my lap and found what she was looking for, sounding out the word slowly, uncertainly: “O….ba…ma.” And just like that her tiny little finger helped mine press the box. Her little four year old freckled face nervously, excitedly, looked up at me and asked, “Did I just vote? Did it count?”

Maybe my daughter will grow up to share my political beliefs. Maybe she’ll have a similar experience that I had as a child and young adult, acting as the political “black sheep” of the family. But that will all play out in time. All we can do as parents is expose our kids to the many views and values this crazy country has, and instill in them a love of country and a sense that EVEN YOU MATTER. And with that…FORWARD…

Obama Victory Speech

And if you haven’t read this yet, about the maturation of both love and politics, from crush to honest to god faith and dedication in a relationship and ditto for our political system, I’d recommend this. Rebecca Woolf nails it again: Faith

